Awards - Cheers to the Honorees

Leadership Excellence  Teaching Excellence

Award for Leadership ExcellenceThe James Slayton National Award for Leadership Excellence is named in honor of a former AMSA/ AMSA Foundation National President whose exemplary achievement in leadership and management foster the development of exceptionally inspiring physician leaders.

Award for Teaching ExcellenceAMSA’s National Golden Apple Award for Teaching Excellence recognizes the contributions of a medical school professor who has made a significant impact,  improvements or advancements in medical education.

Women Leaders in Medicine
Chapter Success

Women Leaders in MedicineThe Women Leaders in Medicine Awards recognize women physicians and educators changing the face of medicine through their lives, professions or teaching and deserve recognition for their accomplishments and dedication to fostering tomorrow’s women leaders in medicine.

Chapter SuccessThe Paul R. Wright Chapter Success Award recognizes six chapters that support AMSA’s mission and are dedicated to inspiring future physician leaders, whether through local events, programming activities, leadership development initiatives or calls for action.

LGBT Health Achievement Presidential Recognition Award

GLMA and AMSA established the LGBT Health Achievement Award to recognize a medical school, student group, or individual student for exemplary achievement in advocating the inclusion of LGBT health issues or concerns within their medical school and centers.

The Presidential Recognition Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership in their AMSA chapter, have bridged the gap between their chapter and the national office, and who have significantly contributed to the organization.